Carnival of the Canucks 
Today's Carnival is hosted by Jen at Circadian Shift.

I'm holding a special Stanley Cup edition of the Carnival next week - here's hoping for a Calgary Carnival!

I'm going to be on the lookout for those that cleverly combine my two interests - hockey and politics - as Bart did in this post:

Here’s a little theory I worked out which I feel offers an infallible system for determining election winners and Stanley Cup champions.

The last time a Canadian team won the Stanley Cup was in 1993 when the Montreal Canadiens took it. This corresponds to the year that Jean Chretien, a Quebec born Liberal leader (which is the traditional party of Quebec for all intents and purposes) first became Prime Minister. In the years prior to this, it had been the Alberta teams who dominated with Edmonton winning Cups in ’84, ’85, ’87, ’88, and ’90 and Calgary winning in ’89. During this time, the Western based Conservative party held office, with massive majority governments. However, since the Conservatives were reduced to 2 seats in ’93, the Alberta teams have struggled year in and year out, displaying as much ineptitude as the federal Tories. It should also be noted that the first year the Oilers won a Cup was 1984, the same year when Brian Mulroney won his majority government.

.... (see the full post for further analysis!)

If the Flames lose, I’d gamble on minority but if the Flames win, I think a majority government may be in the cards.

I'm sure some would take exception to the phrase "Western based Conservative party" when talking about Mulroney's Conservatives but a great take regardless!


This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?